Employee of the Year

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Dee Buggay Award of Excellence

Annually, the city of Conyers recognizes one employee as the Employee of the Year, or recipient of the Dee Buggay Award of Excellence. Dee Buggay, retired human resources director, was the first recipient of the award and the award was named after her as she exemplified every trait and attribute one could aspire to as a public servant and city employee.

The 2019 recipient of the Dee Buggay Award of Excellence (Employee of the Year) is Melissa Staton, code enforcement supervisor in the department of Planning and Inspection Services. Ms. Staton was recognized and honored at the 2020 State of the City Address on January 8, 2020.



Pictured: 2019 Employee of the Year Melissa Staton and her daughter, Scarlett, with Mayor Evans.


Pictured: Melissa Staton is pictured with family members and Mayor Evans (far left) and City Manager Tony Lucas (far right).

Previous Employee of the Year Recipients

Elizabeth Kimbrell, Public Works and Transportation (2018)
Sharon Morgan, Human Resources (2017)
Libra Denmon, Planning and Inspections (2016)
Jerry Gulledge, Public Works and Transportation (2015)
Gary Hegwood, Conyers Security Alert (2014)
Trey Rusk, Cherokee Run Golf Club (2013)
Lonnie Abercrombie, Georgia International Horse Park (2012)
Donna Freeman, Planning and Inspection Services (2011)
Kelly Honea, Communications/9-1-1 (2010)
Charles Drake, Public Works and Transportation (2009)
Monica Coffin, Public Relations and Tourism (2008)
Rebecca Hill, Georgia International Horse Park (2007)
Allen Strickland, Public Works and Transportation (2006)
Yvonne Glumb, Administration (2005)
Pierce Piper, Conyers Police Department (2004)
Penny Dowdy, Georgia International Horse Park (2003)
George Duren, Public Works and Transportation (2002)
Sherry Arnold, Conyers Police Department (2001)
Brad Sutton, Planning and City Services (2000)
Harriet Gattis, Public Relations and Tourism (1999)
Dee Buggay, Human Resources (1998)